Roxanne Dykstra

Let me play that: When changing the Score is allowed!


This concert stages a traditional classical program uniquely featuring transcriptions. In contrast to common assumptions in traditional classical music study that the performing artist must be literal when interpreting a given score, this concert explores what opportunities transcription can offer the performing artist and to the work itself when changing the score IS permitted. The beautiful music in this program provides unique points of access for both performer and audience as it explores a new voice for a given work, revealing exchange between past and present interpretational values; intention and reality, and various musical traditions, cultures, and styles. This in turn offers insights about performance, interpretation, authenticity and originality as we together explore how transcription is not only an avenue to refreshing existing repertoire, but also can create intersections between musical languages, audiences, and contexts. The concert program of approximately 70 minutes. The program includes B. Bartók, 10 Duos of his 44 duos for 2 violins, Isaac Albéniz' Asturias from the Chants d’Espagne, Johannes Brahms' Elegie from Trio for Violin, Waldhorn, and Piano Op. 40, G. F. Handel's Passacaglia on a theme from harpsichord suite HWV 432, and Theodore Gouvy's Sonata for Clarinet and Piano Opus 67.

Roxanne Dykstra, viola
Pedro Meireles, violin
Daniele Piattelli, piano

<< back